top of page

Story #59


Q: How did you decide on your undergraduate course of study?

A: Through interest, passion and also ability to do well.

Q: In retrospect, what did you think were the most useful lessons/ skills/ knowledge you'd gained from your undergraduate education?

A: To be inquisitive, think critically and acquire good fieldwork skills, be open to meeting and interacting with strangers and ability to conduct site visits/recces.

Q: How has your undergraduate education influenced your career choice?

A: I was more interested in the industry per se rather than the thought of specializing in a field related to my major. Hence, there is not much influence tied to my major. Since being in a university is higher education, the biggest link I could find is that my current work also deals with higher education administration and gives me the chance to contribute to my alma mater (NUS), via NUS Medicine YLL and Duke-NUS. However, to do well in my job albeit it being in the scientific medical industry, having an arts degree is actually more useful than a science degree given the copious amounts of report writing and email drafting we have to perform. When I go on business trips, I get to interact with delegates and being a geography undergrad certainly comes in useful when you talk about the host country's landforms (which I have in Indonesia! much to the delegate's delight).

Q: Briefly describe your current job scope.

A: Coordination of department educational activities, planning students' clinical postings, writing research papers, grant proposals and presenting posters at conferences.

Q: To what extent is your current job related to your undergraduate course of study?

A: Not related at all - Majority of the skills required to perform my current job was acquired through on-the-job training.

Q: What are some additional areas you wish your undergraduate education could have covered?

A: Financial management skills.

If you would like to contact LS Lim for more information regarding education/ career choices, feel free to drop us a mail via the Contact Us section below. We'll link you up!

Search By Tags
bottom of page